artist thoughts on storyboarding

I have been working on a very interesting and creative line of work lately. Sketching for stories. It is a really fun kind of natural work for me. My brain didn’t even have to study to learn how to do this.

“Storyboarding”. What is it? Wikipedia defines it as;

  • A storyboard is a graphic organizer in the form of illustrations or images displayed in sequence for the purpose of pre-visualizing a motion picture, animation, motion graphic or interactive media sequence.

It is kind of a perfect fit for me as  I am a “love to sketch” artist. Tending to draw little figures in the margins. As I journal or on many tests and papers that I have done, images appear sketched in any of the open spaces. Where these visions come from I have no idea but I do have an endless variety flowing out of me.

 

I am presently doing storyboard roughs for a biblical movie about part of Jesus’ life. A lot of fun. I am not able to share in info about this project but will show you previous storyboards to give you an idea of what I am talking about.

Here are some rough storyboards as an example.

Rough Storyboards for John Dini, “Hunters in a Farmers World” author.
Leave a Reply

